Preserving Place

9 Dec

preserve

263

264

265

266

267

The Preserving Place is an amazing unknown secret located in the Westside Provisions District on Howell Mill Road which recently opened September 11.  The preserving Place  is Atlanta’s only home for cooking classes, specialty cooking supplies and house-produced preserved food.  Founded by Martha McMillin, Preserving Place draws inspiration from South Carolina Piedmont heritage and the refined architecture of Charleston. I had the pleasure of stopping in on Saturday and I will be the first to admit that I’m not a person who is fond of preserves and when I walked into the store I had no idea what to expect. I was invited to the Westside Provisions District by Oh! Nikka for a day of shopping. We were instantly greeted and were provided with samples of select preserves that were made in the store. I was especially impressed when we were shown the kitchen in which they host classes. My opinion of preserves soon changed when I sampled the spice grape preserves which soon became my favorite and of course I purchased a jar along with a bag of Speltine Vegan Spelt Crackers. Needless to say that I’m in love with preserves. If you’re in the Atlanta area and you haven’t stopped in to tell Martha hello then you should and while your there pick up a few jars of their homemade preserves.

Leave a Reply

